Cosmetology Icons

INTRO: This project was to create a set of icons that flow together and make sense. An icon is something that you can shrink down to a very small size, but because of its simplicity, still be able to understand what it is or what it represents. I chose to focus on cosmetology related items.

AUDIENCE: I was targeting women and girls with this project. The consumers of makeup and other cosmetology related items are women so I designed this with them in thought. I used pink colors as a shade to attract the attention and say “Women”. Pink is a feminine color so that is why it works.

DESIGN ANALYSIS: I used Adobe Illustrator to create my project. The colors used helps my design pop and draw my audiences attention. I made all the icons similar so that they can easily be grouped together in a setting. I love using the pen tool to create new shapes. I outlined my icons with black stroke to make them stand off the background and flow together.

Here are all my icons:

icons final-01

Here are individual 60 px icons:

icons final 60x60-02icons final 60x60-03icons final 60x60-04icons final 60x60-05icons final 60x60-06icons final 60x60-07

 

Here are individual 400 px icons:

icons 400-01icons 400-02icons 400-03icons 400-04icons 400-05icons 400-06

CONCLUSION: This project was really fun. I loved working in Adobe Illustrator to keep up my skills. One thing I thought was great was the freedom to choose whatever we wanted. Sometimes when you are restricted to design under a certain list it can get a little tricky to be creative with your voice. I loved being able to have fun with it and work for myself. I hope you liked it!


Leave a comment